Blog Tour ~ The Escape Room by Megan Goldin ~ Review, Excerpt + Q & A with Author

Book: The Escape Room

Author: Megan Goldin

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery

Published: St. Martin’s Press | July 30, 2019

In Megan Goldin’s unforgettable debut, The Escape Room, four young Wall Street rising
stars discover the price of ambition when an escape room challenge turns into a lethal game of revenge.

Welcome to the escape room. Your goal is simple. Get out alive.

In the lucrative world of finance, Vincent, Jules, Sylvie, and Sam are at the top of their game. They’ve mastered the art of the deal and celebrate their success in style—but a life of extreme luxury always comes at a cost.

Invited to participate in an escape room as a team-building exercise, the ferociously competitive co-workers crowd into the elevator of a high rise building, eager to prove themselves. But when the lights go off and the doors stay shut, it quickly becomes clear that this is no ordinary
competition: they’re caught in a dangerous game of survival.

Trapped in the dark, the colleagues must put aside their bitter rivalries and work together to solve cryptic clues to break free. But as the game begins to reveal the team’s darkest secrets, they realize there’s a price to be paid for the terrible deeds they committed in their ruthless climb up the corporate ladder. As tempers fray, and the clues turn deadly, they must solve one final chilling puzzle:

Which one of them will kill in order to survive?

Read More »

Advertisements

Book Review ~ Click by L. Smyth

Book: Click

Author: L. Smyth

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | March 29, 2019

STRANGER.FRIEND.OR ENEMY?Who is it really hiding behind the screen?

A gripping read that will stay with you long after the final page, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST and HE SAID/SHE SAID.

Eva arrives at university ready to escape her past. She wants a new life, a new personality. But old habits creep in and she finds herself alone, online, watching the digital lives of others.

One profile in particular captures Eva’s attention: that of her glamorous classmate, Marina. As Eva’s obsession builds, she becomes drawn into a web of lies, danger and suspicion. Because Marina’s perfectly filtered life isn’t what it seems.

What is Marina hiding? And behind the screen, who is Eva really – her friend, a stranger, or an enemy?

It only takes a click to find out.

I find the concept of the use of social media as a creep factor quite interesting in my reads. Not only do we hear so many terrible stories from others, but we can see ourselves how the possibilities are endless with technology that grants you anonymity. It’s a different kind of scary world.

Having said all that, my main reason for picking up this story was the social media angle. The obsession and stalking that can be done by just about anyone. Our lives are open for anyone to see, as much as we allow it maybe, but what seems harmless can turn around and hurt you in a way you couldn’t have imagined in the first place.

Read More »

Book Review ~ Don’t Even Breathe by Keith Houghton


Book: Don’t Even Breathe

Author: Keith Houghton

Genre: Thriller

Published: Thomas & Mercer | April 18, 2019

From the bestselling author of Crash comes a riveting thriller rife with murder, misdirection, and ghosts from the past.

Florida homicide detective Maggie Novak has seen hundreds of brutal murder cases, but when she is called out to investigate the charred remains of a young woman one Halloween night, she is confronted with a twenty-year-old secret. The body is formally identified as that of school counselor Dana Cullen, but a distinguishing mark makes Maggie look again. She believes it is the body of her school friend Rita, who perished in a fire twenty years ago.

Maggie’s hunt for the truth behind the murder takes her back to a cruel high school trick she’s desperate to forget. And when another body turns up, Maggie realizes she too may be the target of a sinister plot creeping toward its final act.

Maggie needs emotional distance to do her job, but she’s so close to this case that she can’t even breathe. Will Maggie be able to uncover the truth of who wanted Rita dead? Or will her past mistakes catch up with her first?

I found the premise of this book very interesting. A detective is called to a crime scene on Halloween, with the scene seeming like from a horror movie, only to discover that the true horror lies in the victim. With a secret from twenty years ago, and a victim that should never even been alive to this day, this story was promising.

Read More »

Book Review ~ The Breakdown by B. A. Paris

Book: The Breakdown

Author: B. A. Paris

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Release: St. Martin’s Press | July 18, 2017

Source: Publisher

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside—the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

I know a lot of people already heard of this author by her previous work, but for me, this happened to be the first time I read B. A. Paris. I think it’s safe to say right now that it won’t be my last. A very engaging narration and story line that hooked me from the first page.

I don’t know how familiar you are with stories like this one, or how close you come to cracking your brain trying to come up with theories as you read along, but whatever your poison, this will be an enjoyable read. Though I admit it lacked the shock value for me, it still was an entertaining story. The narration, for one, was intriguing because you never know whether what Cass is going through is real or it’s a figment of her overactive imagination due to the guilt and stress she’s experiencing.

Read More »

Book Review ~ The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Book: The Wife Between Us

Author: Greer Hendricks, Sarah Pekkanen

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Release: Macmillan | February 8, 2018

Source: Publisher

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.

It’s about a jealous wife, obsessed with her replacement.

It’s about a younger woman set to marry the man she loves.

The first wife seems like a disaster; her replacement is the perfect woman.

You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.

You will be wrong.

 

This was a fast paced, gripping novel about two women whose lives intercept and mingle, a story in which things seem blurry at the very least. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book, and about the thrilling story told within, that my mind immediately started working overtime trying to guess what was happening. I liked the exercise because it sucked me right in.

Read More »