Book Review ~ Click by L. Smyth

Book: Click

Author: L. Smyth

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | March 29, 2019

STRANGER.FRIEND.OR ENEMY?Who is it really hiding behind the screen?

A gripping read that will stay with you long after the final page, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST and HE SAID/SHE SAID.

Eva arrives at university ready to escape her past. She wants a new life, a new personality. But old habits creep in and she finds herself alone, online, watching the digital lives of others.

One profile in particular captures Eva’s attention: that of her glamorous classmate, Marina. As Eva’s obsession builds, she becomes drawn into a web of lies, danger and suspicion. Because Marina’s perfectly filtered life isn’t what it seems.

What is Marina hiding? And behind the screen, who is Eva really – her friend, a stranger, or an enemy?

It only takes a click to find out.

I find the concept of the use of social media as a creep factor quite interesting in my reads. Not only do we hear so many terrible stories from others, but we can see ourselves how the possibilities are endless with technology that grants you anonymity. It’s a different kind of scary world.

Having said all that, my main reason for picking up this story was the social media angle. The obsession and stalking that can be done by just about anyone. Our lives are open for anyone to see, as much as we allow it maybe, but what seems harmless can turn around and hurt you in a way you couldn’t have imagined in the first place.

Read More »

Advertisements

Book Review ~ Without A Trace by Carissa Ann Lynch

Book: Without A Trace

Author: Carissa Ann Lynch

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | April 5, 2019

Lily’s gone.
Someone took her.
Unless she was she never there…

A little girl has gone missing.

Lily was last seen being tucked into bed by her adoring mother, Nova. But the next morning, the bed is empty except for a creepy toy rabbit.

Has Nova’s abusive ex stolen his “little bunny” back for good?

At first, Officer Ellie James assumes this is a clear custody battle. Until she discovers that there are no pictures of the girl and her drawers are full of unused toys and brand new clothes that have never been worn…

Is Ellie searching for a missing child who doesn’t actually exist?

 

This book had one of the most intriguing plot lines I’ve ever encountered in thrillers, at least from what I could tell in the synopsis. It is about a mother who reports her daughter missing, and when the cop that’s one of the main characters gets there, she sees no trace of a child ever having lived there. Is the mother lying, or is there more to this story? What a plot.

Read More »