Book Review ~ Click by L. Smyth

Book: Click

Author: L. Smyth

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | March 29, 2019

STRANGER.FRIEND.OR ENEMY?Who is it really hiding behind the screen?

A gripping read that will stay with you long after the final page, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST and HE SAID/SHE SAID.

Eva arrives at university ready to escape her past. She wants a new life, a new personality. But old habits creep in and she finds herself alone, online, watching the digital lives of others.

One profile in particular captures Eva’s attention: that of her glamorous classmate, Marina. As Eva’s obsession builds, she becomes drawn into a web of lies, danger and suspicion. Because Marina’s perfectly filtered life isn’t what it seems.

What is Marina hiding? And behind the screen, who is Eva really – her friend, a stranger, or an enemy?

It only takes a click to find out.

I find the concept of the use of social media as a creep factor quite interesting in my reads. Not only do we hear so many terrible stories from others, but we can see ourselves how the possibilities are endless with technology that grants you anonymity. It’s a different kind of scary world.

Having said all that, my main reason for picking up this story was the social media angle. The obsession and stalking that can be done by just about anyone. Our lives are open for anyone to see, as much as we allow it maybe, but what seems harmless can turn around and hurt you in a way you couldn’t have imagined in the first place.

Read More »

Advertisements

Book Review ~ Don’t Even Breathe by Keith Houghton


Book: Don’t Even Breathe

Author: Keith Houghton

Genre: Thriller

Published: Thomas & Mercer | April 18, 2019

From the bestselling author of Crash comes a riveting thriller rife with murder, misdirection, and ghosts from the past.

Florida homicide detective Maggie Novak has seen hundreds of brutal murder cases, but when she is called out to investigate the charred remains of a young woman one Halloween night, she is confronted with a twenty-year-old secret. The body is formally identified as that of school counselor Dana Cullen, but a distinguishing mark makes Maggie look again. She believes it is the body of her school friend Rita, who perished in a fire twenty years ago.

Maggie’s hunt for the truth behind the murder takes her back to a cruel high school trick she’s desperate to forget. And when another body turns up, Maggie realizes she too may be the target of a sinister plot creeping toward its final act.

Maggie needs emotional distance to do her job, but she’s so close to this case that she can’t even breathe. Will Maggie be able to uncover the truth of who wanted Rita dead? Or will her past mistakes catch up with her first?

I found the premise of this book very interesting. A detective is called to a crime scene on Halloween, with the scene seeming like from a horror movie, only to discover that the true horror lies in the victim. With a secret from twenty years ago, and a victim that should never even been alive to this day, this story was promising.

Read More »

Book Review ~ Without A Trace by Carissa Ann Lynch

Book: Without A Trace

Author: Carissa Ann Lynch

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | April 5, 2019

Lily’s gone.
Someone took her.
Unless she was she never there…

A little girl has gone missing.

Lily was last seen being tucked into bed by her adoring mother, Nova. But the next morning, the bed is empty except for a creepy toy rabbit.

Has Nova’s abusive ex stolen his “little bunny” back for good?

At first, Officer Ellie James assumes this is a clear custody battle. Until she discovers that there are no pictures of the girl and her drawers are full of unused toys and brand new clothes that have never been worn…

Is Ellie searching for a missing child who doesn’t actually exist?

 

This book had one of the most intriguing plot lines I’ve ever encountered in thrillers, at least from what I could tell in the synopsis. It is about a mother who reports her daughter missing, and when the cop that’s one of the main characters gets there, she sees no trace of a child ever having lived there. Is the mother lying, or is there more to this story? What a plot.

Read More »

Book Review ~ Must Love Babies by Lynnette Austin

 

Book: Must Love Babies

Author: Lynnette Austin

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release: Sourcebooks Casablanca | June 5, 2018

This baby’s not the only one in need of a cuddle…

Brant Wylder is a bachelor and loving it! He’s in Misty Bottoms, Georgia, property-hunting for his vintage car repair shop when he gets the call. His sister’s been in an accident, and Brant has to drop everything and take care of his five-month-old nephew. That’s the end of the bachelor lifestyle.

Bridal boutique owner Molly Stiles is all business all the time, until she sees that Brant’s in trouble. In this Southern town, nobody ever has to go it alone. And besides, how can she resist that beautiful baby in the arms of a beautiful man…?

 

 

I believe the title tells all in this book. If you want to read and enjoy this book to the fullest, you Must Love Babies, because the majority of the book chronicles the adventures Brant has with his nephew, baby Jax. If you know me, you know that I love stories involving children, especially the heroes’ interactions with them melt my heart, but be prepared to read a lot of baby Jax and Brant.

I have to admit, I felt this story was more Brant’s unexpected and sudden plunge into parenting territory than the romance. It was quite fun to read about a man who enjoyed his bachelor status to the limit becoming the father figure to a little baby—and struggling with it completely— but if I have to be honest, that took a bit away from what he could’ve had with the heroine. Perhaps a little less of the baby—and I can’t believe I’m saying this because again, I love children in stories— and a little bit more with Brant with Molly would’ve been much better for this contemporary romance.

Read More »

Release Day e-ARC review ~ Darkest Night by Tara Thomas

Book: Darkest Night (Sons of Broad #1)

Author: Tara Thomas

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: February 27, 2018 | St. Martin’s Press

SHE THOUGHT SHE’D LOST HIM FOREVER
Tilly Brock has learned—the hard way—how to take care of herself. Once a pillar of Charleston society, her family lost everything in the wake of a shocking scandal. And then Tilly lost the only boy she ever loved.

BUT NOW THAT HE’S BACK IN HER LIFE
Keaton Benedict is Charleston’s most notorious bachelor. But in spite of all his advantages—the money, the women,the family name—he longs for more: the heart of the young woman he still can’t forget.

THE DANGER HAS JUST BEGUN…
When Keaton re-enters Tilly’s life, after all these years, she is torn between feelings of doubt and desire. Can they put the past behind them and learn to love again? Tilly is willing to try. But Keaton is afraid that a vengeful enemy is watching—and waiting to destroy them. Can the rekindled flame of their love defeat the deadliest rival and light their way forward in the darkest night?

This was my second read by Tara Thomas after the first of the prequel novellas to the Sons of Broad series. Although I didn’t like the novella, this first novel length book of the series was much better. Just as I thought, romantic suspense, at least for me, reads better when it’s longer.

Tilly Brock and Keaton Benedict had been friends when they were both young and their families were close. Then a scandal about Tilly’s father-that he stole money from the Benedicts- caused the two families and the two friends to drift apart. Until one day, when they met again by chance, and while wanting to try to rekindle their friendship and let go of the past, they also have to battle with an unknown enemy to them both.

Read More »