Book Review ~ Click by L. Smyth

Book: Click

Author: L. Smyth

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | March 29, 2019

STRANGER.FRIEND.OR ENEMY?Who is it really hiding behind the screen?

A gripping read that will stay with you long after the final page, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST and HE SAID/SHE SAID.

Eva arrives at university ready to escape her past. She wants a new life, a new personality. But old habits creep in and she finds herself alone, online, watching the digital lives of others.

One profile in particular captures Eva’s attention: that of her glamorous classmate, Marina. As Eva’s obsession builds, she becomes drawn into a web of lies, danger and suspicion. Because Marina’s perfectly filtered life isn’t what it seems.

What is Marina hiding? And behind the screen, who is Eva really – her friend, a stranger, or an enemy?

It only takes a click to find out.

I find the concept of the use of social media as a creep factor quite interesting in my reads. Not only do we hear so many terrible stories from others, but we can see ourselves how the possibilities are endless with technology that grants you anonymity. It’s a different kind of scary world.

Having said all that, my main reason for picking up this story was the social media angle. The obsession and stalking that can be done by just about anyone. Our lives are open for anyone to see, as much as we allow it maybe, but what seems harmless can turn around and hurt you in a way you couldn’t have imagined in the first place.

Read More »

Advertisements

Book Review ~ Don’t Even Breathe by Keith Houghton


Book: Don’t Even Breathe

Author: Keith Houghton

Genre: Thriller

Published: Thomas & Mercer | April 18, 2019

From the bestselling author of Crash comes a riveting thriller rife with murder, misdirection, and ghosts from the past.

Florida homicide detective Maggie Novak has seen hundreds of brutal murder cases, but when she is called out to investigate the charred remains of a young woman one Halloween night, she is confronted with a twenty-year-old secret. The body is formally identified as that of school counselor Dana Cullen, but a distinguishing mark makes Maggie look again. She believes it is the body of her school friend Rita, who perished in a fire twenty years ago.

Maggie’s hunt for the truth behind the murder takes her back to a cruel high school trick she’s desperate to forget. And when another body turns up, Maggie realizes she too may be the target of a sinister plot creeping toward its final act.

Maggie needs emotional distance to do her job, but she’s so close to this case that she can’t even breathe. Will Maggie be able to uncover the truth of who wanted Rita dead? Or will her past mistakes catch up with her first?

I found the premise of this book very interesting. A detective is called to a crime scene on Halloween, with the scene seeming like from a horror movie, only to discover that the true horror lies in the victim. With a secret from twenty years ago, and a victim that should never even been alive to this day, this story was promising.

Read More »

Book Review ~ Without A Trace by Carissa Ann Lynch

Book: Without A Trace

Author: Carissa Ann Lynch

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | April 5, 2019

Lily’s gone.
Someone took her.
Unless she was she never there…

A little girl has gone missing.

Lily was last seen being tucked into bed by her adoring mother, Nova. But the next morning, the bed is empty except for a creepy toy rabbit.

Has Nova’s abusive ex stolen his “little bunny” back for good?

At first, Officer Ellie James assumes this is a clear custody battle. Until she discovers that there are no pictures of the girl and her drawers are full of unused toys and brand new clothes that have never been worn…

Is Ellie searching for a missing child who doesn’t actually exist?

 

This book had one of the most intriguing plot lines I’ve ever encountered in thrillers, at least from what I could tell in the synopsis. It is about a mother who reports her daughter missing, and when the cop that’s one of the main characters gets there, she sees no trace of a child ever having lived there. Is the mother lying, or is there more to this story? What a plot.

Read More »

Book Review ~ The Right Sort of Man by Allison Montclair

Book: The Right Sort of Man (Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery #1)

Author: Allison Montclair

Genre: Historical Mystery

Release: Minotaur Books | June 4, 2019

First comes love, then comes murder.

In a London slowly recovering from World War II, two very different women join forces to launch a business venture in the heart of Mayfair–The Right Sort Marriage Bureau. Miss Iris Sparks, quick-witted and impulsive, and Mrs. Gwendolyn Bainbridge, practical and widowed with a young son, are determined to achieve some independence and do some good in a rapidly changing world.

But the promising start to their marriage bureau is threatened when their newest client, Tillie La Salle, is found murdered and the man arrested for the crime is the prospective husband they matched her with. While the police are convinced they have their man, Miss Sparks and Mrs. Bainbridge are not. To clear his name–and to rescue their fledging operation’s reputation–Sparks and Bainbridge decide to investigate on their own, using the skills and contacts they’ve each acquired through life and their individual adventures during the recent war.

Little do they know that this will put their very lives at risk.

A lovely and optimistic start to a new series that I’m quite glad to have come across. I don’t know what drew me in, but I thought the cover was cozy and sweet, and with the setting of post war London, I was completely smitten.

While the mystery lies with the murder that involves two clients of the Right Sort Marriage Bureau which our two protagonists own, what I really loved to read about was the London after World War II. The world building was so realistic that I felt like I was watching this as a movie. I could easily picture a city that was trying to regain its composure after the devastation that was the war. People trying to get back their lives, trying to move on after losing loved ones, and generally life trying to continue after so much death. I’m no particular history buff but I enjoyed reading about the historical aspect of this particular story.

Read More »

Blog Tour ~ Hide and Seek by Mary Burton ~ Review, Author Guest Post, Excerpt & Giveaway

Book: Hide and Seek (Criminal Profiler #1)

Author: Mary Burton

Genre: Romantic Suspense, Thriller

Release: Montlake Romance | April 23, 2019

Special Agent Macy Crow is a survivor. After a vicious hit-and-run nearly kills her, she gets right back to work, and now she’s gunning for a spot on the FBI’s elite profiling team. As an audition, she offers to investigate the recently discovered bones of Tobi Turner, a high school girl who disappeared fifteen years ago.

While investigating with local sheriff Mike Nevada, a former colleague and onetime lover, Macy discovers a link between Tobi’s case and several others that occurred around the same time as her disappearance. As Macy interviews victims and examines old cases, she uncovers a sinister picture of a stalker who graduated to sexual assault—and then murder.

Macy and Nevada race to put this monster behind bars before he can come out of hiding. But the murderer’s had years to hone his skills, and soon Macy herself becomes a target. She’s no stranger to pain and terror, but will Macy’s first profiling case be her last?

Read More »