Review ~ Playing By Her Rules by Amy Andrews

PlayingByHerRulesBook: Playing By Her Rules

Series: Sydney Smoke Rugby #1

Author: Amy Andrews

Genre: Contemporary Sports Romance

Format: e-book

Page Count: 184

Published: Entangled Publishing: Brazen, July 11, 2016

Source: Publisher

In this grudge match, the first to score…

When style columnist Matilda Kent accidentally lets slip that she was once involved with the captain of the Sydney Smoke rugby team, she suddenly finds herself elevated to the position she’s always wanted – feature writer. The catch? She’s stuck doing a six-part series on her ex. Still, there’s no way she can turn down a promotion…or the chance to dish the dirt on the guy who so callously broke her heart.

…could win it all!

Tanner Stone wants to be involved in a feature series about as much as he wants to snap an Achilles. But the thought of seeing Tilly again is a bonus—and has him more worked up than he wants to admit. Only he’s not prepared for how different she is – all cool and professional. His Tilly is still in there, though…and he still wants her, now more than ever. All he has to do is charm her into giving him a rematch. And this time, winner takes all!

Goodreadsaddbook

HodgepodgeReview

I have to admit, my knowledge of rugby pretty much consists of-yep, you guessed it- big men in tight shorts. That’s right folks, I was completely clueless getting into this one. It was as if I felt it though, a few days ago I found myself lounging in front of the tv and watching rugby whenever I caught it, and trying to understand. Is it karma? Fate? Whatever it was, I’m glad I found this series because yeah, I’m watching out for the rest.

Read More »

Review ~ Earning A Ring by Kristina Mathews

EarningARingBook: Earning A Ring

Series: More Than A Game #4

Author: Kristina Mathews

Genre:  Sports Romance

Format: e-book

Page Count: 290

Published: Lyrical Shine, January 19, 2016

Source: Publisher

For Rachel Parker, covering the San Francisco Goliaths is the perfect opportunity to launch her career as a serious reporter. But she didn’t bargain on Bryce Baxter, the team’s star shortstop, tempting her more non-professional aspirations. After tearing up the base paths with him, she finds herself with a little problem, and Bryce might be the only man who can save the game.

Bryce Baxter should be living the dream. His team just won the World Series and he just signed the multi-year contract of his career. But his field of dreams has been overtaken by a fiery redheaded reporter, who’s bearing a news flash that will change both of their lives forever…

Goodreadsaddbook

HodgepodgeReview

This book was a huge, big disappointment for me. Sure, the first book I’ve read of this series didn’t impress me much, but the next book was better, and the next one even more so. So EARNING A RING should’ve been the jackpot moment for me, considering the couple was the only one I actually was dying to read because of their instant chemistry. Was it like hitting the jackpot? Not so much.

First of all, I didn’t buy the emotional connection between Bryce and Rachel all. They had more connection in other couples’ books than they had in their own. How disappointing. I felt as if the author took the unexpected pregnancy plot and simply ran with it. A success story for me this was not though.

Read More »

Review, Excerpt & Giveaway ~ Someone Like You by Jennifer Gracen

SomeoneLikeYouBook: Someone Like You

Author: Jennifer Gracen

Genre: Contemporary Sports Romance

Release Date: April 26, 2016

Pierce Harrison—yes, that Pierce Harrison, black sheep of the wealthy Harrison clan—has come home to his family’s luxurious Long Island compound. The big question is why the dangerously sexy soccer star agreed to coach a kids’ soccer team. His co-coach Abby McCord should be grateful. Instead she’s fending off some seriously smoldering advances from the scandal-ridden athlete. Good thing bad boys are so not her type . . .

Abby is definitely not lacking in passion, but the sweet-faced beauty needs to learn a thing or two about taking a team to the championship—and a whole lot about how to let a man into her once-broken heart. Pierce definitely knows how to make the moves, but will Abby trust that the bachelor the world has condemned as a scoundrel can settle down with the one woman who has taken hold of his heart?

 

Goodreadsaddbook

SomeoneLikeYou

Read More »

Review, Excerpt & Giveaway ~ Calling It by Jen Doyle

CallingItBook: Calling It

Author: Jen Doyle

Genre: Contemporary Sports Romance

Release Date: April 11, 2016

Baseball player Nathan Hawkins needs to get away from Chicago. After a near career-ending car accident and with paparazzi surrounding his penthouse, Nate can only think of one place to go: home. But when he finds his old apartment occupied by a half-naked woman wielding a baseball bat, he’s not sure what to think…except that maybe his luck has finally changed for the better.

Librarian Dorie Donelli never thought she’d get to meet her fantasy man in person—much less while she’s wearing her bathrobe. To her surprise, her nearly naked run-in with Nate leads to more unclothed encounters. But Dorie is sure their fling is only temporary. As long as she remembers he’ll be gone once his life gets back on track, she won’t get hurt. In the meantime, she throws herself into enjoying their three weeks together before he has to report for spring training and go back to his old life.

For Nate, being with Dorie is the only time in months that he finds himself smiling. Laughing. And he has no intention of letting that go. He might even be falling in love…if only Dorie will let him say the words. What they have isn’t just a dream, but the start of a dream come true.

Goodreadsaddbook

CallingItBlogTour

Read More »

Review ~ Major Misconduct by Kelly Jamieson

MajorMisconductBook: Major Misconduct

Series: Aces Hockey #1

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Genre: Sports Romance

Format: e-book

Page Count: 268

Published: Loveswept, October 13, 2015

Source: Publisher

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

Goodreadsaddbook

HodgepodgeReview

I have mixed feelings about this book. While all the elements for a well fitted sports romance were there-like my favorite ice hockey and falling for your best friend’s little sister- I still couldn’t invest in the story as much as I wanted to. And I wanted to.

Lovey and Marc’s situation as roommates, their sudden attraction and inevitable romance was actually quite nice to think about. I liked the thrill that came from keeping their affair a secret from their other roommate who was Lovey’s brother. It’s kinda sexy to be sneaking around. But as much as I like that setting, their romance did start a bit suddenly for me. Better yet, it felt like what they felt was romance from the very first moment they saw each other, whereas I would’ve preferred more time for their relationship to develop. It wasn’t even a few days before they started thinking about how the other brought out the best in each other, or how they lightened each other’s mood and burdens.

Read More »