Book Review ~ Click by L. Smyth

Book: Click

Author: L. Smyth

Genre: Thriller

Published: Killer Reads | March 29, 2019

STRANGER.FRIEND.OR ENEMY?Who is it really hiding behind the screen?

A gripping read that will stay with you long after the final page, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST and HE SAID/SHE SAID.

Eva arrives at university ready to escape her past. She wants a new life, a new personality. But old habits creep in and she finds herself alone, online, watching the digital lives of others.

One profile in particular captures Eva’s attention: that of her glamorous classmate, Marina. As Eva’s obsession builds, she becomes drawn into a web of lies, danger and suspicion. Because Marina’s perfectly filtered life isn’t what it seems.

What is Marina hiding? And behind the screen, who is Eva really – her friend, a stranger, or an enemy?

It only takes a click to find out.

I find the concept of the use of social media as a creep factor quite interesting in my reads. Not only do we hear so many terrible stories from others, but we can see ourselves how the possibilities are endless with technology that grants you anonymity. It’s a different kind of scary world.

Having said all that, my main reason for picking up this story was the social media angle. The obsession and stalking that can be done by just about anyone. Our lives are open for anyone to see, as much as we allow it maybe, but what seems harmless can turn around and hurt you in a way you couldn’t have imagined in the first place.

The story, having all these issues about social media at its core, sounded very intriguing to me. A young woman, an unreliable character that’s the common ground for almost all psychological thrillers, tells us a story that starts off as her relationship with a classmate. We take off from there and go through the turbulence friendship they shared, the different opinions they had, touching relationships with others and the use of social media inbetween. While I admit, I had difficulty connecting with the story and the characters in general, I still have to give credit to the author for making me interested till the end. Because this was a bit of a slow burn. It dragged a bit. I wasn’t fully engaged at first but still wanted to know just what the hell was going to happen. But then again, I have patience like that. If you want a fully engaging, quite fast read for a psychological thriller, then this is probably not the book for you. But if you’re interested in the way a story evolves, a somewhat criticism to the power of social media over individuals, then you might want to stick around and give this one a chance. I was still left with questions, holes to be filled, yes, and it wasn’t satisfactory or gripping in a mystery/thriller meaning, but it was a book that came as close to reality as a psychological thriller could—or any story that involved the things this one did for that matter.

I’m adding three spoonfuls of this story into my hodgepodge.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s