Review ~ Major Misconduct by Kelly Jamieson

MajorMisconductBook: Major Misconduct

Series: Aces Hockey #1

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Genre: Sports Romance

Format: e-book

Page Count: 268

Published: Loveswept, October 13, 2015

Source: Publisher

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

Goodreadsaddbook

HodgepodgeReview

I have mixed feelings about this book. While all the elements for a well fitted sports romance were there-like my favorite ice hockey and falling for your best friend’s little sister- I still couldn’t invest in the story as much as I wanted to. And I wanted to.

Lovey and Marc’s situation as roommates, their sudden attraction and inevitable romance was actually quite nice to think about. I liked the thrill that came from keeping their affair a secret from their other roommate who was Lovey’s brother. It’s kinda sexy to be sneaking around. But as much as I like that setting, their romance did start a bit suddenly for me. Better yet, it felt like what they felt was romance from the very first moment they saw each other, whereas I would’ve preferred more time for their relationship to develop. It wasn’t even a few days before they started thinking about how the other brought out the best in each other, or how they lightened each other’s mood and burdens.

It was a bit rushed, but to think this wasn’t a book with as many pages as some novels out there, it could be understandable. It would’ve been much better if it was longer though. Would’ve given me more time to see the transition from roommates to lovers, and their personal dilemmas when it came to Lovey’s brother, about how he would react to his best friend hooking up with his sister.

Since I couldn’t buy much into their romance, I found myself only a little invested in all the central characters. Marc wasn’t as serious as I wanted him to be, especially with the way the author described him as being the most work oriented and no fun player of the team. Lovey was supposed to be a free spirit who lived in her brother’s shiny hockey career’s shadow, but she was more in the forefront with her commitment phobia than her free spirit. And Lovey’s brother Duncan didn’t leave much of an impression in my mind, other than being her big brother who didn’t take her seriously and who was shy about the ladies.

But did I hate the book? No. Not at all. Actually, I’m kinda looking forward to reading about another member of the team who goes back home to his adopted family and reunites with his old flame. This was a series first, and I usually give them credit for that, it’s hard to introduce a whole new life to the reader. It definitely could’ve been done better, but I’ll still be reading the next book in the series and hope for a better execution.

I’m adding two spoonfuls of this story into my hodgepodge, and let’s see about that reunion.

 

HodgepodgeSpoon007HodgepodgeSpoon007

 

Aces Hockey series by Kelly Jamieson:

  1. Major Misconduct
  2. Icing
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s